Achtung! Sie befinden sich auf der archivierten Seite des am 30. Juni 2023 aufgelösten RFTE. Zur Nachfolgeorganisation FORWIT – Rat für Forschung, Wissenschaft, Innovation und Technologieentwicklung gelangen Sie hier.

Attention! You are on the archived page of the Austrian Council, whose mandate ended on 30 June 2023. Please find the website of the newly established FORWIT – Council for Sciences, Technology, and Innovation here.

Council members

Council Members

The Austrian Council consists of eight members with voting rights, four of whom were appointed by the Minister of Education, Science and Research and four by the Minister of Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology. The members of the Austrian Council with voting rights are appointed for a five year term of office and may be reappointed for one further period. The Minister of Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology, the Minister of Education, Science and Research, the Minister of Digital and Economic Affairs and the Minister of Finance or their designated representatives hold seats on the Austrian Council but have no voting rights.

You can download the Act here (German). The passages concerning the Austrian Council can be found in Article 2, Paragraph 17 (page 11ff).

Sylvia Schwaag-Serger, Univ.-Prof. Dr. | Chairwoman

Professor of Research Politics, Lund University

Sabine Herlitschka, DI Dr. MBA | Vice Chairwoman

CEO Infineon Technologies Austria AG

Jakob Edler, Univ.-Prof. Dr.

Executive Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI

Hermann Hauser, Dr.

Business founder, IT entrepreneur and entrepreneur for risk capital in Great Britain, co-founder Silicon Fen („british Silicon Valley“)

Helga Nowotny, em. Univ.-Prof. Dr.

Former President European Research Council

Advisory Members:

Leonore Gewessler, BA

Minister of Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology

[Read more]

Ao. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Martin Polaschek

Minister of Education, Science, and Research

[Read more]


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Martin Kocher

Minister for Labour and Economy

[Read more]

Dr. Magnus Brunner, LL.M.

Minister of Finance

[Read more]

© Copyright 2018 - Rat für Forschung und Technologieentwicklung